History of the Big Bash League

December 1, 2015 by Posted in Articles

Big Bash League

The fifth season of the KFC Big Bash League (BBL05) is rapidly approaching with excitement building for the first match of the season commencing on 17th December. With the Test series against New Zealand wrapping up in prime time with a pink ball under lights, there’s no doubt that Australia is ready for the start of one of the biggest national T20 leagues in the world.

Over the coming weeks, we’ll be bringing you a series of preview articles in the lead up to the BBL05 season kicking off.

The Big Bash League features eight city-based teams or franchises from the capital cities of each of the six Australian states with Sydney and Melbourne having the distinction of fielding two teams each. Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder complete the roster.

In line with the increasing popularity of the shortest form of limited overs cricket, the BBL was launched as Australia’s premier domestic T20 cricket competition back in 2011. Growing in popularity ever since, the Big Bash League is hugely popular within and outside Australia. The increase in crowd average, the huge television audience and the millions wagered on the outcome are just a few indicators of the popularity of this format.

The inaugural BBL season was won by the Sydney Sixers who recorded a seven-wicket win over Perth Scorchers. The second season in 2012-13 saw the Brisbane Heat as surprise champions as they were triumphant over Perth Scorchers (pictured) once again with a 34-run victory. However the Scorchers were able to bounce back as the two-time defending champions with BBL victories in 2013-14 and 2014-15.

The Scorchers are, by far, the most successful team in the league having reached the final of all four seasons of the BBL and winning the title twice. Of the rest, only the Sydney Thunder have not been able to make it to the semi-finals at least once making them easily the underachievers of the league.

This year the BBL will feature the start of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) with teams aligned to the current men’s league. Cricket Australia hopes to increase the interest in Women’s cricket with this initiative.

The male BBL05 teams can sign up to 18 players which include two overseas-based players on their roster. Big names in the T20 format like Kieron Pollard, Brendon McCullum, Chris Gayle and Kevin Pietersen are just some of the names that will bring entertainment to the Australian shores this December.

Will Perth Scorchers be able to score a hat-trick of titles? Will the Sydney Thunder be able to challenge for higher honours? We’ll have a series of preview articles coming up on our cricket betting tips page in the lead up to the BBL05 season, as well as tips and previews for every match of the 2015 Big Bash League season!

Written by Bet King - Sports Betting Tips

Bet King provides betting previews, promotions and advice on the latest sports events around the globe. We also aim to provide comprehensive reviews of the best betting sites in Australia. Make Bet King your number #1 choice for expert betting tips. Betting Tips

Leave a Reply